my Dad rarely ever before reads books, if that does it's generally a thriller or funny crime story.A few weeks ago, however, the finished reading Ernest Hemingway's 'The Old Man and also the Sea' and said he really took pleasure in it!

Can you indicate any similar books, maybe standards (but no necessarily), the are also short and suitable for someone that reads very little? Would choose to offer him something for his birthday.

You are watching: Books like the old man and the sea

Thanks in advance :)


*

He should shot some Jack London - The call of the Wild, White Fang. Below is a connect to his devastating brief story, "To build a Fire" - the stylistic similarities to 'The Old Man and the Sea' a nice clear


Thank you! discovered a quick story repertoire that contains the one you linked, and it's a modern-day translation also - awesome!

I have to admit ns haven't check out 'The Old Man and also the Sea' myself, yet I'm sure he will appreciate the similar style :)


The Pearl by man Steinbeck is a great read and a quick one in ~ that!

If he chosen Hemingway, you should have him check out 2 of his quick story collections: In our Time and also The Snows of Kilimanjaro. Both about 160 pages and also both some comparable stories come The Old Man and the Sea.

Lastly, though it’s a bit longer, he should examine out Hemingway’s come Have and Have Not. Best method to explain it would be a similar story as Breaking bad (good male goes bad) but set in Cuba and also Florida.


Thanks! because that some factor the idea of offering him quick stories didn't also occur come me, might be good for as soon as he's no committed sufficient to read a whole book over a longer time span

The Pearl sound perfect! ns will absolutely order that, if not for him, climate I'll simply keep that myself, hehe :)


The Old Man and the Wasteland by Nick Cole. The key character's favorite publication happens to it is in The Old Man and the Sea


wow, this sounds choose a perfect follow-up publication to check out after 'The Old Man and the Sea'! give thanks to you

to be totally honest, though, I'd favor for the link to be slightly less noticeable - don't want him to think he'll only every get associated with stories about some old man, considering 'The Old Man and also the Gun' is currently one of ours father-daughter movies ;)

might on slide it in next year :)


I indicate "Strange instance of Dr Jekyll and also Mr Hyde" by Robert luigi Stevenson, the is not similar to "The Old Man and also the Sea" however I'm sure he will like it.


"Things loss Apart" by Chinua Achebe is really good. A deceptively an easy story (that's no actually simple at all).

See more: In How Many Ways Can 8 Persons Be Seated In A Row Ifa, How Many Ways Can 8 People Be Seated In A Row


This is specifically what it sounds like. In need of a good read? permit us recognize what you want and we insurance you'll discover a great book, or her money back.